1/4/10 School Board Minutes 
written by tiffany johnson   
monday, 08 february 2010 15:42




JANUARY 4, 2010


Call to Order/Pledge:

                 The regular School Board meeting of Independent School District #317 was held January 4, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. in the Deer River High School Media Center. Chairperson Victor Williams called the meeting to order and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Members in attendance included: Chair Williams, Anne Gardner, Lee Pederson, Brad Box, and Sarah Bellefy. Absent: Nancy Adams-Hulbert. Administrators present included: Matt Grose; Superintendent, Carol Risberg; Business Manager, Brent Colligan; High School Principal, Amy Galatz; Elementary Principal and Brent Schimek; Activities Director. Tiffany Johnson was present as recorder.



Election of officers:

Motioned by Gardner to elect Victor Williams as Chair, Anne Gardner as Vice Chair, Nancy Adams-Hulbert as Clerk, and Lee Pederson as Treasurer; seconded by Box. Motion carried unanimously. (MCU hereafter.)


Designations, Authorizations and Appointments:

Official district depositories: Motioned by Gardner to approve the Corporate Resolutions for Woodland and US Bank, and designate official depositories as the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund (MSDLAF), and Woodland Bank of Deer River; seconded by Pederson. MCU.

Authorize electronic transfers: Motioned by Bellefy to authorize the use of electronic bank transfers; seconded by Gardner. Motion amended to include designation of those authorized to complete transfers: Matt Grose; Superintendent, Carol Risberg; Business Manager, and Chery Ross; Administrative Assistant. MCU.

Authorization to utilize legal firms: Motioned by Box to authorize Superintendent Grose to utilize the following legal firms: Sara Ruff, Attorney at Law; Ratwik, Roszak, Bergstrom, Maloney & Bartell; Knutson, Flynn & Deans; John Colosimo, Attorney at Law; seconded by Bellefy. MCU.

Set regular Board meetings & dates: Motioned by Box to hold regular meetings of the School Board on the first Monday of the month (except July and September due to holiday) at 6:00 p.m., with Public Forum at 5:45 p.m. Meetings will be held in the DRHS Media Center, with exception of May/September at King School; seconded by Bellefy. MCU.

Set school board salaries: Motioned by Gardner to continue the 2009 salary schedule: annual salary is $2000/year, ($2300/year chairperson) with three absences allowed from regular meetings and a 1/12 deduction for all other absences. School Board related absences are not included in three-absence total. Meetings will be reimbursed at $40 per meeting with a maximum of $120 for all day meetings or overnight stay; seconded by Box. MCU.

Other Annual Appointments: Motioned by Gardner to renew the following annual appointments:

Board negotiators: Victor Williams, Anne Gardner, Nancy Adams-Hulbert

Meet & Confer reps: Brad Box, Lee Pederson, Sarah Bellefy

Legislative Liaison: Anne Gardner, Victor Williams/Alternate

Community Education Advisory Council: Lee Pederson

Transportation Committee: Victor Williams, Lee Pederson

Health & Safety Committee: Brad Box, Sarah Bellefy

Budget & Finance Committee: Nancy Adams-Hulbert, Anne Gardner, Brad Box

MN State High School League Representative: Victor Williams

Board Development Committee: Anne Gardner, Lee Pederson, Nancy Adams-Hulbert

Policy Review Committee: Anne Gardner/Sarah Bellefy, Nancy Adams-Hulbert/Brad Box

Infinity (online learning) Representative: Brad Box, Lee Pederson/Sarah Bellefy, alternates

Motion seconded by Box. MCU.

IASC Governing Board Representative: Motioned by Pederson to renew the appointment of Gardner, with Bellefy to act as alternate; seconded by Box. MCU.

Hire School Board Recording Secretary: Motioned by Gardner to hire Tiffany Johnson as recording secretary for the School Board, with Chery Pierzina as substitute; seconded by Box. MCU.


Agenda Approval:

Motioned by Gardner to approve the agenda; seconded by Pederson. MCU.

Highest Student Achievement:

Infinity On-Line Learning. Jo McClure provided overview of the State of Online Learning, including local, state and national data.


Effective and Efficient Systems:

Approval of Minutes: Motioned by Pederson to approve minutes of the December 7, 2009 regular meeting as written; seconded by Box. MCU.

Approval of Disbursements<span style="margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; border-top-width: 0px; border-right-width: 0

Back button   Back